NEW FOR 2014:

– Upgraded infotainment system with standard reverse camera
– Standard navigation for RX Hybrid
– Minor equipment level changes

Following a mid-cycle update, the Lexus RX and RX Hybrid enter 2014 mostly unchanged. That’s a good thing as the RX continues to deliver what customers have come to expect over the past 15 years: a comfortable ride, plush cabin, plenty of cargo space, and all-weather versatility, with bulletproof reliability and low running costs.

RX 350 and RX 350 F Sport models use a 3.5-litre V6 engine that develops 270 hp and 248 lb-ft of torque; most models come equipped with a six-speed automatic transmission. An eight-speed automatic is reserved for the F Sport promising better performance and improved fuel economy. All-wheel drive is standard.

For those wanting to truly maximize on fuel economy, there is also the RX 450h hybrid. It has a 3.5-litre V6 engine with a CVT transmission and three electric motors, one of which drives the rear wheels. As with all Lexus hybrids, the RX can be driven for short distances solely on electric power.

For 2014 all RX 350s receive a standard reverse camera, an upgraded version sound system (12 speakers in place of nine), and a new 7-inch display screen for the infotainment system. Lexus has also added a rear cargo mat, bumper protector and splash guards.

The RX 350 is a well-equipped luxury vehicle. Standard features include smart key with push-button start, dual-zone climate control, power tilt and telescope steering column, garage door opener, genuine wood trim, 10-way power driver’s seat, 40/20/40 split folding rear seat, Bluetooth, satellite radio, USB audio input and more. Oddly, the entry level RX features cloth upholstery, not leather or synthetic leather.

The Premium Package adds heated and ventilated leather seats, driver seat memory, power folding auto-dimming exterior mirrors, power moonroof, and high-intensity discharge headlights.

The Touring Package includes the content in the Premium package, and adds navigation with DVD audio capability, a heated wood and leather-wrapped steering wheel, 19-inch wheels, and a blind-spot monitoring system.

The Technology Package builds on the Touring package, and adds Lexus’ Vehicle Dynamics Integrated Management system, a 15-speaker Mark Levinson sound system, head-up display, intuitive parking assistance, premium leather upholstery, and additional wood trim.

This year, Lexus has split the F Sport trim level into two trim levels. Series 1 includes heated and ventilated F Sport leather seats, a power moonroof, auto-dimming mirror, F Sport interior accents (pedals, shift lever), 19-inch F Sport wheels, F Sport exterior front and rear bumpers, HID headlamps, navigation, VDIM, and the aforementioned eight-speed automatic transmission with paddles for manual shifting.

The F Sport Series 2 adds key components from the Technology package – the 15-speaker sound system, head-up display, and intuitive parking assistance.

The RX 450h receives additional standard equipment for 2014 – all models receive navigation, a new eight-inch audio display with reverse camera, auto-dimming side mirrors, intuitive parking assistance, blind spot monitor and 19-inch wheels as standard equipment. Heated and ventilated leather seats, VDIM, and HID headlamps are also included.

Technology Package adds 15-speaker Mark Levinson sound system, head-up display, front seat power thigh support with premium leather upholstery, and LED headlamps.

The new range-topping Executive Package adds a dual-screen rear entertainment system with two wireless headphones, a 120-volt/400W power outlet, and radar cruise control with pre-collision warning. It is the only RX to breach the $70,000 mark.

Connect with