Author Topic: Insuring cars in separate provinces with one driver's license  (Read 1011 times)

Offline cross-canada

• Noob
  • Carma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • Cars: Mercedes GLE 450
Insuring cars in separate provinces with one driver's license
« on: November 13, 2020, 04:45:01 pm »
If I'm a BC resident with a BC driver's license, how can I insure an Ontario-registered car that is garaged at my house in Ontario and never leaves Ontario?

The insurance brokers I spoke with in Ontario tell me I'm out of luck because I need to have an Ontario driver's license. But I spend most of my time in BC and drive a car there, and I'm only allowed to have one license at a time.

What's interesting is that I can rent a car in Ontario with a BC license for as long as I want. It's surprising that whatever commercial insurance policy being used by the rental company isn't available to retail customers even at a premium.

Weird problem, but nobody seems to know what to do.

Offline blur911

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +242/-779
  • Nasty Weasel
    • View Profile
  • Cars: and bikes by age:BMW, Porsche, Subaru, Suzuki, Suzuki, Mazda, Jaguar, Kawasaki, Porsche, GMC, Suzuki
Re: Insuring cars in separate provinces with one driver's license
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2020, 06:52:40 pm »
Someone else asked that same question, maybe within the last year, I don't think they ever reported a good solution back to us
Mr Pickypants

Offline HeliDriver

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +175/-235
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 2023 Crosstrek Sport 6MT; 2011 Yukon XL 2500
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2020, 12:21:56 am »
If you're a BC resident with a BC driver's license, then why not register the car in BC as well? You'd just be driving the car in Ontario as a visitor, same as anyone who drives to Ontario for a summer holiday.

From https://www.brokerlink.ca/blog/driving-with-out-of-province-plates-in-ontario :