Author Topic: Chopped Spots on Tires  (Read 2160 times)

Offline Giuseppe

• Learner's Permit
  • Carma: +0/-0
  • Questa è l'Italia che piace
    • View Profile
  • Cars: Santa Fe, Fiat Panda
Chopped Spots on Tires
« on: April 09, 2016, 02:53:47 am »
Good Day everybody,

I would like to ask for your help in diagnosing the issue of chopped spots in the tires of my Hyundai Santa Fe 2008 as you see in the attached photos, Recently I started to find them on the surface of the front tires only (the back two tires are ok), I wonder if this is a critical issue and need to be resolved, should I get rid of those tires and get new ones ? or, would a normal tires rotation with the back tires might solve the issue ? the tires are made in 2014, so they are less than 2 years old, I work in construction sites so I park my car sometimes on a rough ground but I don't go inside the construction sites in it, so it's not prone to rough surfaces all the time, also my mechanic recently recommended me to change the shock absorbers , I'm not sure if this is related to the chopped spots appearance.

Thank you very much!
« Last Edit: April 09, 2016, 02:57:59 am by Giuseppe »

Offline capriracer

• Enthusiast
  • Carma: +19/-2
    • View Profile
    • www.barrystiretech.com
Re: Chopped Spots on Tires
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2016, 09:37:56 am »
This looks to me like a street tire being used on unimproved roads. 

I note that the tread pattern seems to point to "Street Only".  It might be nice if we knew the actual brand and tire line to help us diagnose that part of it.

The second part is the comment about working construction sites.  Some construction sites can be "paved" with gravel or small stones - and not only would those be fresh and still sharp-edged, the road itself might be bumpy, which would add to the condition.

Front tires?  Could be from sharp turns or hard braking.