Author Topic: CD Article: Used Review VW Passat  (Read 30268 times)

Offline Benhaze

• Drunk on Fuel
  • Carma: +29/-63
    • View Profile
Re: CD Article: Used Review VW Passat
« Reply #60 on: January 09, 2006, 06:44:45 pm »

Thanks KTM. I was well aware of the misfire problem VW experienced but that wouldn't trouble me as I have lots of experience when OBDII started (misfire monitor) in 1995. As long as there no base engine root cause of course.

But if you take the time to read some of the postings, there are many more serious and frustrating potential issues than the misfire one. The engine oil issue was surely not as critcal for the V6 engines.

I'm glad to hear yours has been trouble free. But I am myself not willing (anymore) to gamble on a VW.

Offline johngenx

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +758/-938
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 2009 Toyota Corolla, 2004 Toyota Highlander V-6 4WD, 2001 Subaru Forester, 1994 Mazda Miata
« Reply #61 on: January 10, 2006, 08:32:19 am »
VW simply suffers from the 2000-ish German-Car-Itis disease that plagued all of them: sun-burning the owners with the Check Engine Light.

The problem that VW had that made it worse was the inability for the dealers to fix those problems.  Many VW owners drove their cars home with problems still evident.  Mercedes has (had, we hope) the same problems, but the dealers were better at sending people home with cars that were "repaired."  Sure, the MB would fall apart again next week, but once again, they would have it fixed.

Thanks to the high cost of recalling/repairing an entire production run of cars, makers are "head in the sand" all the time now.  Toyota had to be sued by that feisty woman in the US to admit that their long oil change intervals were ruining engines.