Article by Autos.ca staff

Earlier in the year we published our Autos.ca 2013 halfway report, highlighting the biggest stories of the year thus far.  Six months on and 2013 is drawing to a close, so what’s the final verdict?

We all have our favourites, the funniest, the prettiest, the most interesting – and some of those we’ve been re-publishing for your holiday pleasure.

But we couldn’t decide on criteria that both Jonathan Yarkony and Jacob Black were happy with, so to prevent 2014 beginning with more editorial fisticuffs, we decided to let the numbers do the talking when we compiled this list.

And so, as judged by you our audience, the biggest stories of the year by page views are:

Comparisons Tests:

Autos.ca’s comparison tests are everything you want them to be. Thorough, demanding, and filled with journalists’ bickering. They also represent the most popular category on the site. The top three in 2013 were:

  1. Comparison Test: 2013 Honda CR-V vs. 2013 Toyota RAV4
  2. April 15, 2013: We pit these two Canadian-built compact SUVs against each other in a head-to-head grudge match. These two are sales heavyweights, and so it wasn’t a huge surprise to see this test at the top of the totem. It was also our most popular story of the year overall.

  3. Comparison Test: Compact Crossover SUVs
  4. September 16, 2013: Car-based SUVs continue to boom as a market segment. For 2013 there were a host of revisions right across the range, so we put seven of them to the test back to back – the winner might surprise you.

  5. Comparison Test: 2014 Mazda6 vs 2013 Honda Accord Sedan
  6. March 18, 2013: Having already won over auto critics, the Mazda6 faces a tough test against the winner of our five-way family sedan comparison, the Honda Accord.

First Drives:

When it comes to page impressions, first impressions count. When it comes to single-car reviews nothing is more popular than our First Drives. The best of them were:

  1. First Drive: 2014 Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class
  2. March 22, 2013: Senior Editor Jonathan Yarkony braves the back roads and roundabouts of southern France to report on the all-new Mercedes-Benz CLA 250.

  3. First Drive: 2014 Subaru Forester
  4. March 11, 2013: The 2014 Subaru Forester sticks to the compact SUV formula, offering convenience, practicality, and a bit of extra oomph for upgraded XT models.

  5. First Drive: 2014 Mazda3 Sport
  6. July 12, 2013: The redesigned 2014 Mazda3 proves that driving fun doesn’t have to be sacrificed for better fuel economy, improved safety and a comfortable ride.

Test Drives:

Test Drives are the bread and butter of the automotive journalist. Extended time with the cars allows us to give you the best possible read on your next ride. James Bergeron’s Day By Day reviews are always popular and took top spot in 2013 with a domestic success story.

  1. Day-by-Day Review: 2013 Chevrolet Trax
  2. June 29, 2013: James isn’t so sure the Trax earns the right to call itself an SUV, but there is no denying GM has found a winning formula with consumers.

  3. Test Drive: 2013 Mercedes-Benz GLK 250 Bluetec Diesel
  4. July 18, 2013: Mercedes-Benz’s new GLK 250 BlueTEC 4MATIC is the complete package for a compact SUV, with style, performance and efficiency perfectly suited to the Canadian Market.

  5. Test Drive: 2013 Honda Accord Sedan V6 Touring
  6. January 8, 2013: With its powerful and smooth V6 and a new six-speed automatic, the 2013 Accord sedan feels more like an entry-level luxury sedan.

Previews/Advice:

Sudbury’s Justin Pritchard scores himself a well-deserved hat-trick in this category, with three of his best lists taking out the page-view podium.

  1. Northern Exposure: Best Winter Highway Cars
  2. February 5, 2013: Some notes on some noteworthy highway snowstorm cars.

  3. Top Picks: Cheap Fun – Sports Cars Under $35,000
    July 26, 2013: We comb the market for affordable sports cars that deliver the best combination of power, handling and pleasure.
  4. Northern Exposure: Standout Luxury Cars You Can Afford
  5. May 28, 2013: Justin Pritchard dives into the luxury segment and recommends some of his favourite affordable yet luxurious vehicles.

Used Car Reviews:

Did you know that there are over 400,000 used cars for sale on autoTRADER.ca? Well there are. And if you want more information on just about any of them, we’ve got you covered. Two entertaining and informative features lead the pack, with Subaru’s trusty little sleeper sneaking into third.

  1. Top Picks: Most Practical Used Small Cars Under $10K
  2. August 9, 2013: We look at some of the autos.ca staff’s top-picks for used compacts that deliver affordable reliability and space.

  3. Consumer Advice: Used Turbo Cars 101
  4. April 18, 2013: Our top tips for maximum confidence in buying and owning a used car with a turbocharger.

  5. Top Picks: Hottest Used Sports Cars and Shopping Checks
  6. March 14, 2013: We look at some of the Autos.ca staff’s top picks for used sports cars and the important checks shoppers should make on their potential candidates.

What was your favourite article of 2013? Let us know in the comments section below.




About Jacob Black

Jacob used to write about motorsport for SPEED TV in Australia but met a girl. Now he writes about road cars in Canada and is married to the girl. He lives a very, very good life. Jacob Black is not a werewolf.