Ottawa, Ontario – The Government of Canada has announced the winners of the 2010 ecoENERGY for Vehicles Awards, which lists the most fuel-efficient vehicles in each category for the year. The complete fuel consumption listings for all 2010 vehicles has also been released.

“Our government congratulates all winners of the 2010 ecoENERGY for Vehicles Awards,” said Lisa Raitt, Minister of Natural Resources. “Not only do these awards recognize leadership in clean energy innovation, but Canadians purchasing a new vehicle now have the tools to choose a fuel-efficient model that will lower fuel costs and reduce emissions.”

Since 1999, the government has identified the most fuel-efficient new vehicles available in ten different categories as winners of the ecoENERGY for Vehicles Awards, formerly known as the EnerGuide Awards. The awards will be officially presented at the Canadian International Auto Show in Toronto in February.

To find fuel consumption ratings for all vehicles, visit Natural Resources Canada and select Fuel Consumption Ratings.

The 2010 winners are:

Two-Seater: Smart Fortwo

Subcompact: Toyota Yaris 

Compact: Honda Civic Hybrid

Midsize: Toyota Prius

Full-size: Hyundai Sonata

Station Wagon: Audi A3 TDI/Volkswagen Golf Wagon TDI (tie)

Pickup Truck: Ford Ranger/Mazda B2300

Special Purpose: Ford Escape Hybrid

Minivan: Mazda5

Large Van: Chevrolet Express Cargo/GMC Savana Cargo

Connect with