Short list will be announced later this year

Updated on August 18, 2014

The Detroit Auto Show brings with it a number of automotive reveals, new model announcements, and the spectacle surrounding it all. It also brings some awards, and the biggest two of them all are the North American Car of the Year and Truck/Utility of the Year honours.

While we could debate the validity of awards (and the number of them available) until we are blue in the face, here is the entire long list of vehicles eligible for both awards.

A short list will be announced later this year before the eventual winners are bestowed with their trophies at the 2015 North American International Auto Show in Detroit this coming January.

UPDATE: AutoBlog is reporting that the list has been modified slightly, adding the Mini Cooper and Toyota Highlander, which just missed the cutoff last year, while the Honda HR-V will not make it in time for this year’s judging and so has been removed.

Acura TLX
Alfa Romeo 4C
Audi A3
BMW i3
BMW i8
Cadillac ATS Coupe & V
Chrysler 200
Dodge Challenger
Dodge Charger
Ford Mustang
Honda Fit
Hyundai Genesis sedan
Hyundai Sonata
Jaguar F-Type Coupe
Kia K900
Lexus RC
Maserati Ghibli
Mercedes-Benz B-Class electric
Mercedes-Benz C-Class
Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe
Mini Hardtop
Subaru Legacy
Subaru WRX / WRX STi
Toyota Camry
Toyota Yaris
Volkswagen Golf/GTI
Volvo V60

Audi Q3
Cadillac Escalade
Chevrolet Colorado
Chevrolet Suburban
Chevrolet Tahoe
Chevrolet Trax
Ford Edge
Ford Expedition
Ford F-150
Ford F-Series HD
Ford Transit Connect
GMC Canyon
GMC Yukon
GMC Yukon XL
Jeep Renegade
Kia Sedona
Kia Soul EV
Lexus NX
Lincoln MKC
Lincoln Navigator
Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class
Nissan Murano
Porsche Macan
Ram Promaster City
Subaru Outback
Toyota Highlander
Volvo XC60
Volvo XC90 north-american-car-truck-year-award

Connect with