Author Topic: Comparison Test: Best Fuel Efficient Cars  (Read 31158 times)

Offline dirtyjeffer

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +296/-1312
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 2021 Toyota Venza Limited, 2016 Kia Sorento EX AWD
Re: Comparison Test: Best Fuel Efficient Cars
« Reply #100 on: December 30, 2012, 01:14:16 pm »
Volt sales in the US:  2011 - 7,671, 2012 YTD - 20,828
Canada Volt sales :  2011 - 275, 2012 YTD - 1,168

November sales in the US:  2011 - 1,139, 2012 - 1,519
November sales in Canada:  2011 - 28, 2012 - 93
i would be curious to see what the sales numbers would be like if you and i weren't paying for every single one sold.
When you've lost the argument, admit defeat and hit the smite button.

Offline tenpenny

• Car Crazy
  • Carma: +137/-305
    • View Profile
Comparison Test: Best Fuel Efficient Cars
« Reply #101 on: December 30, 2012, 06:42:11 pm »
So the rule of thumb is 1:3 for tonnes of coal burnt to CO2 produced.
i'm no scientist, but that still doesn't make sense...when you burn coal, you are releasing the contents of coal as it is burnt for fuel...you aren't using nuclear fusion here, combining molecules to end up with "more weight" than what you started with...if you are burning 90% carbon coal, then let's pretend the left over 10% is the O2...if you burned 10 tons of coal, you would have 1 ton of O2 released.

isn't that how it works?

Combustion means combining with oxygen from the ambient air, so that's where the extra mass comes from. 

1ton of carbon plus 2 tons of oxygen =3 tons co2

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
My diesel car self-identifies as an electric vehicle.

Offline Neromanceres

• Learner's Permit
  • Carma: +26/-16
    • View Profile
  • Cars: 2017 Volt, 2013 Sonic, Former 2013 Volt
« Reply #102 on: December 31, 2012, 01:46:39 am »
Volt sales in the US:  2011 - 7,671, 2012 YTD - 20,828
Canada Volt sales :  2011 - 275, 2012 YTD - 1,168

November sales in the US:  2011 - 1,139, 2012 - 1,519