January 10, 2007

Winners named in EyesOn Design Awards

Detroit, Michigan – The Second Annual EyesOn Design Awards were presented at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit. The EyesOn Design Awards are the only automotive design awards to be judged solely by designers. The awards are sponsored by the Detroit Institute of Ophthalmology (DIO), a non-profit organization dedicated to improving the lives of the blind and visually impaired through education, support and research.

Tom Gale, Chief Judge for the EyesOn Design Awards, is the former head of design for Chrysler who is best known for bringing design to the forefront of the company through memorable vehicle designs such as the Viper and the Prowler. Gale led a design jury comprised of 24 highly-respected designers with representation from directors of design for several major international vehicle manufacturers, independent designers, domestic and foreign design colleges, and retired automotive design chiefs who judged all new vehicles introduced at the NAIAS 2007.

Vehicles were judged in four categories that embody critical elements of vehicle design. The awards are:

The Aesthetics and Innovation Award, which focuses on the aesthetics of design; the very essence of design and the innovative way it brings out a new and significant design standard. Winner: Chrysler Nassau

The Concept Implementation Award, which centers on a concept scheme, or attribute that is crafted to bring out the true brand or product character in a new and significant way. Winner: 2008 Cadillac CTS

The Functionality Award, which focuses on how design conveys function in an efficient and useable way that enables the user to execute daily life in a proficient and constructive way. Winner: Kia Kue

Spirit of Industrial Design, Designs that blend materials, aesthetics and functional designs to suggest greater customer appreciation. Winner: Jeep Trailhawk

Connect with Autos.ca