October 13, 2004

Winners chosen in Toyota Canada’s national photo contest

Toronto, Ontario – Toyota Canada and Canadian Heritage are pleased to announce the names of the thirteen regional contest winners who were chosen from thousands of images submitted from March 1 to August 31 as part of this year’s “Show Us Your Canada” national photography competition sponsored by Toyota Canada and the Department of Canadian Heritage.

The thirteen winners will receive a round trip for two, including accommodations, to Expo 2005 in Aichi, Japan. These thirteen winning photographs will be displayed at Expo 2005 in the Canada Pavilion, and included in a commemorative book that the Government of Canada will present to dignitaries visiting the pavilion and the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo.

Toyota vehicle owners from across the country were also invited to submit photographs, and a fourteenth prize will be awarded to Carl Heino of
Vancouver, British Columbia.

“The results of this contest were everything we could have imagined – and
more”, said Ken Tomikawa, President of TCI. “From coast to coast to coast,
Canadians shared with us their personal vision of the natural wonders and
diverse cultural experiences that make this country the greatest place in the
world to live, work and play. With so many superb photos submitted, our
contest judges had a formidable challenge picking the thirteen winners. On
behalf of the judges and Toyota Canada, I’d like to extend a big thank-you to
everyone who participated.”

“Through our partnership with Toyota Canada, we were able to engage
Canadians across the country by inviting them to capture their vision of
Canada’s diversity through the lens of a camera,” said Norman Moyer,
Commissioner General for Canada at Expo 2005. “Regardless of language, origin
or culture, people can share and understand stories through pictures. I
sincerely look forward to meeting all the contest winners at the Canada
Pavilion next year.”

The thirteen “Show Us Your Canada” regional photo contest winners are:

  • Rick Joyce, Kamloops, British Columbia

  • George Webber, Calgary, Alberta
  • Glenn Dean, Bushell Park, Saskatchewan
  • Harv Sawatzky, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Robert Postma, Whitehorse, Yukon
  • Sean MacGillivray, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
  • Michel Leger, Iqaluit, Nunavut
  • Brian Summers, Toronto, Ontario
  • Yann Bernatchez, Montréal, Québec
  • Don Carroll, Upper Kingsclear, New Brunswick
  • Al Gallant, Bedford, Nova Scotia
  • Derrick Turner, Paradise, Newfoundland
  • David Wong, Summerside, Prince Edward Island

The winning photographs can be viewed on www.showusyourcanada.ca.

Connect with Autos.ca