Ottawa, Ontario – The winners of the 2011 Canadian Transportation Awards Program have been named. The awards, which are supported by Transport Canada, recognize leadership, excellence and achievement in all modes of the transportation sector.

“Through their efforts, these recipients show exemplary leadership and help Canada achieve many of its transportation objectives relating to the environment, safety and security, and system efficiency,” said Denis Lebel, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities. “The Government of Canada is proud to be part of this announcement.”

The winners were presented with their awards at the Transportation Association of Canada’s annual conference in Edmonton. They are:

Transportation Person of the Year is given to an individual who has assumed a leadership role contributing to the improvement or advancement of the transportation industry. The recipient is Gary McNeil, president of Ontario’s GO Transit, in recognition of his contribution to the organization’s ridership growth and customer satisfaction with transit services for the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area.

The Award of Excellence is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the betterment of the transportation industry in terms of safety, sustainable development, research, technology, policy or corporate development. It goes to Jake Kosior, senior transportation planner at Manitoba’s Department of Infrastructure and Transportation, for his work on efficient supply chain networks and the transportation system.

The Award of Achievement is given to an individual who has made positive and measurable improvements to transportation through innovation and initiative on a particular project. The recipient is Garfield Dales, manager of Windsor Border Initiatives at the Ontario Ministry of Transportation in recognition of his contribution to the transportation networking serving the Windsor-Detroit border crossing.

The Award of Academic Merit is given for a long-term contribution to the advancement of academic research and the development of future transportation leaders. It went to Dr. Liping Fu, professor of civil and environmental engineering at the University of Waterloo in Ontario.

The inaugural Citation for Lifetime  Achievement in Transportation Policy and Decision Making was given to Alberta premier Edward Stelmach.

Connect with