October 22, 2007

Transport Canada honours winners of the 2007 Canadian Transportation Awards

Ottawa, Ontario – Transport Canada and the Transportation Association of Canada has announced the winners of the 2007 Canadian Transportation Awards. The four awards recognize leadership, excellence and achievement in all modes and segments of the transportation sector.

The Transportation Person of the Year was awarded to Geni Brafman Bahar, vice-president of iTRANS Consulting Inc. of Richmond Hill, Ontario, for her dedication to improving the safety of North American roads. Over her 27-year career, Bahar has coordinated multi-disciplinary teams in a wide variety of safety projects, including leading the Ontario provincial government in the successful development and implementation of a road safety management system. Today, the resulting “Science of Highway Safety” is taught to transportation professionals across North America.

The Award of Excellence was given to Roger Ray of Ottawa, Ontario, former director general of economic analysis at Transport Canada, for advancing transportation research through his commitment to public service. His approach to transportation issues and problems led to his involvement in research programs and pioneering work in electronic data collection methods; he has also represented Canada on a number of international committees and working groups.

The Award of Achievement was presented to two individuals. John Lisman, a consulting engineer in highway safety engineering and litigation support from Victoria, B.C., was named for his work improving road safety through innovative designs and methods. He is credited for introducing neighbourhood traffic calming measures in the Downtown West End of Vancouver in the 1970s; while working for the B.C. Ministry of Transportation, he developed and introduced the “Lisman barrier flares” and the concept of the “forgiving roadside” for the design of provincial highways. Joe Sparling of Whitehorse, Yukon, president and CEO of Air North, was honoured for improving air service in northern Ontario by providing a reliable and competitive airline.

The Award of Academic Merit was given to Dr. Ralph Haas, professor emeritus and Norman W. McLeod Engineering Professor at the University of Waterloo, Ontario, for his career as an educator and mentor to many of today’s leaders in the field of transportation. He has published 10 books and 400 technical papers on infrastructure, and was instrumental in securing a grant in the transportation area that enabled the creation of the University’s Centre for Pavement and Transportation Technology. He was previously recognized with the Order of Canada.

Connect with Autos.ca