Arlington, Virginia – Kansas, Ohio and Texas have increased their speed limits on some roads, according to the U.S. Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

Kansas has increased the limit on divided highways from 70 mph (112 km/h) to 75 mph (120 km/h) effective July 1, 2011.

The speed limit on the Ohio Turnpike increased from 65 mph (104 km/h) to 70 mph (112 mph), effective April 1, 2011.

Texas has eliminated its nighttime differential, increased the number of miles that can be posted at 75 mph (120 km/h) or 80 mph (128 km/h), and has increased the highest authorized speed limit to 85 mph (136 km/h) on specified roads built to sustain the additional speed, effective September 1, 2011.

The IIHS said that in many states, the maximum speed limit that state or local authorities can establish depends on whether the road is a rural or urban interstate, a non-interstate limited-access highway, or other type of road. Speed limits have traditionally been the responsibility of the states, but in the mid-1970s, Congress established a national maximum speed limit by withholding highway funding if a state maintained speed limits above 55 mph (88 km/h). The requirement was loosened for rural interstates in 1987 and repealed completely in 1995. Currently, 34 states have speed limits of 70 mph (112 km/h) or higher on some portion of their roadway system.

Connect with