April 8, 2005

Shirley Muldowney among 2005 inductees to Automotive Hall of Fame

Detroit, Michigan – The Automotive Hall of Fame has released the names of its 2005 Class of Inductees. It is the highest class of honour in the international motor vehicle industry. Formal induction ceremonies will be held October 11 in Detroit.

The inductees are race driver Mario Andretti; John Dunlop, who invented the first successful pneumatic tire; Jaguar Cars founder Sir William Lyons; Jim Moran, one of the first auto dealers to advertise on television, selling Hudson, Ford and then Toyota; Shirley Muldowney, the first woman licensed to drive a Top Fuel dragster and three-time NHRA World Champion; former General Motors chairman and CEO John (Jack) Smith Jr.; John M. Studebaker, who transformed Studebaker from a wagon company to a car company; and Alexander Winton, who built one of the first mass-produced cars in 1898 and held over 100 patents in the U.S. and Europe for automotive advances.

Connect with Autos.ca