Windsor, Ontario – Students from the University of Saskatchewan have placed first in a poster competition sponsored by Canada’s national automotive research program AUTO21.

The team won the Highly Qualified People Poster Competition, sponsored by the Ontario Ministry of Economic Development and Trade. The competition is open to student researchers within the AUTO21 Network of Centres of Excellence program, which supports nearly 200 researchers and over 350 graduate students at 45 universities across Canada.

The winning team contributes to the Second Generation Biofuels for Sustainable Transportation project, and includes Kathlene Jacobson, Majak Mapiour and Ramin Azarghhar, supervised by Dr. Ajay Dalai.

The annual competition is held each spring and has a total prize purse of approximately $15,000. Fifteen semi-finalist teams are selected from the initial pool of entrants, and must provide an oral defence of their research poster. Following the winning University of Saskatchewan, the other schools in order of finish were the University of Alberta, McGill University (Ontario), Ryerson University (Ontario) and the University of British Columbia.

Connect with