March 28, 2007

NHTSA presents awards for safety achievements and public service

Chicago, Illinois – The U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has honoured 15 individuals and groups with awards for their achievements in highway safety. The awards were given at the 25th annual Lifesavers conference, which focuses on common-sense solutions to critical highway safety issues.

The conference features 87 workshops and 105 exhibitors, and covers such topics as child passenger safety, occupant protection, and new vehicle safety technology.

Recipients of the awards included Gabrille Abbate, Executive Driver of Rhode Island MADD, for her dedication in reducing alcohol-related fatalities and injuries in the state; the American College of Surgeons/Committee on Trauma, in recognition of more than 50 years of leadership to injured patients by promoting improved emergency medical services and trauma systems; the Chicago Tribune for a year-long series, “Teens at the Wheel”; Governor Ernie Fletcher of Kentucky for leading the charge for passage of the primary seatbelt law in Kentucky, which became effective in 2006; and Captain Charles Hirata of the Maui Police Department, for his initiative and dedication to improving child passenger safety and traffic safety in the State of Hawaii and the Pacific Rim.

Connect with