St. John’s, Newfoundland – Roy Hopkins and Adrienne Hughes have taken the overall title in the seventh annual Targa Newfoundland road rally, marking the second year in a row they have won the event. The pair, who finished the competition with only 25 seconds in penalties over the 2,200-km, six-day event, drove a 1969 BMW 2002.

In the Grand Touring (equipped) division, John Vandemierden and Stu Lehmann took first place in a 2008 Lotus Exige, while Alan Kearley and Greg Martin in a Mazda3 Sport GT took Grand Touring (non-equipped).

Final results for all classes and categories will be finalized when all protests go before event organizers to decide final positioning, and after all class winners have their vehicles “torn down” by the event scrutineer to ensure they meet Targa class regulations. For more information, visit Targa Newfoundland.



Connect with