September 14, 2006

NASCAR stars and auto designers among Hall of Fame inductees

Dearborn, Michigan – Seven men, including NASCAR driver Dale Earnhardt and Bridgestone founder Shojiro Ishibashi, will be inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Dearborn, Michigan in October.

The nonprofit Hall of Fame was created in New York City in 1939, when it was originally called “Automobile Old Timers”, and was dedicated to honouring automotive people from all industry segments and from around the world. The organization moved to Washington, D.C. and then to Midland, Michigan before opening the present Automotive Hall of Fame building in Dearborn in 1997. Over 200 individuals have been inducted over the years.

The 2006 inductees are Bill France, Jr., son of NASCAR founder Bill France Sr. and recognized in his own right for taking NASCAR to new heights in popularity and success; NASCAR driver Dale Earnhardt; Nuccio Bertone, whose styling house produced such vehicles as the Lamborghini Countach, Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint and Lancia Stratos; Wayne Huizenga, founder of automotive retailer AutoNation Inc.; Shojiro Ishibashi, founder of Bridgestone Tire Co. Ltd.; Arjay Miller, president of Ford from 1963 to 1968; and Bruno Sacco, a Mercedes-Benz designer for 39 years.

More information on the Hall of Fame can be found at

Connect with