July 5, 2007

Motorsports legends to race for charity at Rolex Monterey Historic Automobile Races


Cadillac BLS wagon
Cadillac BLS wagon. Click image to enlarge


Torrance, California – Nine famous race drivers will race on the same track for the first time when they suit up to compete in the inaugural Race of Legends at the Rolex Monterey Historic Automobile Races, August 17-19. Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. is presenting the eight-lap charity race on Saturday, August 18 at the storied Laguna Seca Raceway as part of its sponsorship of the Monterey Historic Automobile Races.

“This is a fun competition where we will award $25,000 in prize money to the winner’s selected charity,” explains Keith Dahl, National Manager — Engagement for Toyota Motor Sales USA. “The drivers are approaching this race in a competitive, yet friendly spirit. However, with all of them being past champions you’re sure to see an entertaining competition en route to the checkered flag.”

The drivers will take the green flag in race-equipped Scion tC sport coupes. These high-performance tCs feature a 2.4-litre, 215-horsepower supercharged engine.

The field consists of:

  • Bobby Unser — Three-time winner of the Indianapolis 500, and one of two to win in three decades (1968, 1975 and 1981), Unser was the USAC Indy Car Champion in 1968 and 1974. He also was the 1975 IROC champion and 1994 inductee into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.
  • Al Unser Sr. — Al, Bobby’s younger brother, captured four Indianapolis 500 victories (1970, 1971, 1978 and 1987, four days prior to his 48th birthday) and three Champ Car Championships in 1979, 1983 and 1985. He was a 1991 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America inductee.
  • Johnny Rutherford — A fellow three-time winner of the Indianapolis 500 (1974, 1976 and 1980), the Texas-raised champ also won his first NASCAR start at Daytona International Speedway in 1963. He was inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in 1996.
  • Bobby Rahal — Three-time CART Series Champion (1986, 1987 and 1992), Rahal has won the Indianapolis 500 both as a driver (1986) and owner (2004). He served as interim CART president and CEO during the 2000 season and was a 2004 inductee into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

  • Parnelli Jones — A winner in many forms of racing, Jones drove the hard-charging Boss 302 Mustang to multiple wins in the SCCA Trans Am series.
    He was the 1963 Indianapolis 500 winner, 1964 USAC stock car champion and inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in 1992.

  • Emerson Fittipaldi — Until recently, “Emmo” held the distinction of being the youngest world champion ever – at age 25. He won 14 Formula One races and the world championship in 1972 and 1974. Fittipaldi followed that with Indianapolis 500 victories in 1989 and 1993 and was the IndyCar World Champion in 1989. He was a 2001 inductee into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.
  • Vic Elford — Considered one of the greatest all around drivers, Elford competed worldwide in all types of races – from Formula One to the 24 Hours of LeMans (class wins in 1967 and 1973) and was one of the first non-American drivers to compete in the Daytona 500.

  • Derek Bell — Five-time winner of the 24 Hours of LeMans (1975, 1981, 1982, 1986 and 1987), Bell is a two-time World Sportscar Champion (1986 and 1987). He also had nine starts in Formula One for Ferrari, McLaren, Surtees and Tecno.

  • Ove Andersson — Winner of the grueling Monte Carlo Rally in 1971, Andersson went on to become the European Rally Champion the following year. As a team owner, he began working with Toyota, winning numerous rally championships and overseeing Toyota’s sports car and Formula One efforts.

For more information, visit MontereyHistoric.com or Laguna-Seca.com.

Connect with Autos.ca