Aug 8, 2007

Four auto manufacturers confirmed for Targa Newfoundland

St. John’s, Newfoundland – At least four auto manufacturers will be officially represented at this year’s Targa Newfoundland, squaring off against each other as well as private entries. The rally runs from September 8 to 15, starting and finishing in St. John’s.

BMW Group Canada returns for the fifth year with its two-time Open Division-winning Mini Cooper S, driven by Jim Kenzie and Brian Bourbonniere. The pair won in 2005 and 2006.

Subaru Canada Inc., a regular competitor and supporter since 2003, returns with a WRX STi in the Open Division, driven by brothers John and Clarke Paynter of Nova Scotia. For 2007, Subaru is the Honoured Marque of the event, and will provide a 2008 Impreza for course-opening duties.

Mazda Canada returns with two factory-supported vehicles, in the Targa and Grand Touring competitions: a Mazda RX-8 driven by Jeff McKague and Mike Gayowski of Ontario; and a 2007 Mazdaspeed3 driven by Nika Rolczewski and Sandra Lemaitre of Ontario.

Lexus will enter a GS450h, one of the first hybrid vehicles to enter a serious motorsport competition in North America, driven by Marc Lachapelle and Jean-Francois Drolet from Quebec. The hybrid will compete on a handicap basis with other Modern cars for division honours, and with Class, Modern and Open Division entries for the Overall title.

Targa Newfoundland is one of three internationally-recognized Targa motorsports events in the world, and is listed on the Federation International de l’Automobile (FIA) international calendar. The rally covers more than 2,000 km of the central and eastern portion of Newfoundland over six days, including up to 400 km of closed-road, flat-out Targa stages.

Connect with