December 10, 2007

Federal government issues list of eligible 2008 ecoAUTO Rebate vehicles

Ottawa, Ontario – The Government of Canada has released the list of 2008 model-year vehicles eligible for the ecoAUTO Rebate Program. The program, which started in March 2007, offers rebates from $1,000 to $2,000 on the purchase or lease of new fuel-efficient vehicles in Canada.

The rebates apply to new passenger cars with a combined city/highway fuel consumption of 6.5 L/100 km or less; new minivans, SUVs or other light trucks with a combined city/highway fuel consumption of 8.3 L/100 km or less; and new flex-fuel vehicles (FFV) with a combined city/highway E85 fuel consumption rating of 13.0 L/100 km or less.

Depending on the model, engine size and driveline, eligible vehicles for 2008 include:

  • $2,000 – Toyota Prius, Honda Civic Hybrid, Smart Fortwo, Ford Escape Hybrid, and Saturn Vue Hybrid.
  • $1,500 – Toyota Camry Hybrid, Nissan Altima Hybrid, and Toyota Highlander Hybrid.
  • $1,000 – Toyota Corolla, Toyota Yaris, Mini Cooper Clubman, Mini Cooper, Honda Civic, Honda Fit, Lexus RX 400h, Jeep Compass, Jeep Patriot, Chevrolet HHR and HHR Panel, Nissan Rogue FWD, Chevrolet Impala FFV, Dodge Avenger FFV, and Chrysler Sebring FFV.

    A list of vehicles and an application form to apply for the rebate are available at

  • Connect with