November 19, 2004

Eleven Canadians to be inducted into the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame

Toronto, Ontario – Ross de St. Croix, Chair of the Board of the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame (CMHF), a division of the Canadian Automotive Collection, announced this year’s list of honourable members which includes both past and current racing leaders in their fields.

At the CMHF’s annual black tie Gala on January 29, 2005, 11 new motorsport Competitors, Builders, Significant Contributors and Team Members will be inducted and recognized for their outstanding achievements in Canadian motorsport.

The inductees are selected by a panel of racing and automotive journalists from across the country who review each nominee presented for that year. Each inductee has been chosen based on their contribution to the sport within their particular discipline. The honourable members for 2004 are:

Category Discipline
Larry Bastido Competitor/Significant Contributor Motorcycle
Jim and Alice Fergusson Competitor/Significant Contributor Road Racing
Jack Greedy Competitor Significant Contributor Stock Car
Bob and Helen Harvey Significant Contributors Drag Racing
Doug Kennington Competitor Stock Car
George Lemay Competitor Oval Track
Rollie MacDonald C ompetitor Stock Car
Jean Paul Perusse Competitor Rally Sport
Mark Rotharmel Competitor Power Boating
Gordon Reelie Competitor/Significant Contributor Oval Track
Brian Stewart Significant Contributor Road Racing

“As always, we are pleased to induct some fine people from a time when motorsport was a lot less complicated. We recognize that today’s motorsport scene is a more complex and expensive one, but it is still developing great talent and producing important racing contributors. But, in addition to celebrating the past, we also look forward to the future and being able to include today’s motorsport leaders on our list of honourable members,” says Mr. de St. Croix.

The gala ceremony and dinner, including a Silent Auction, is at the Mississauga Convention Centre and is open to the public. Tables of ten are $2,200 and individual tickets are $220 and may be purchased by visiting

A continental breakfast will be held on Sunday, January 30 at the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame at Exhibition Place, offering people a chance to meet the 2004 inductees. Admission is free for gala ticket-holders and $15 all other guests.

The Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame is one of the largest motorsport collections in Canada and houses more than 25 racing cars, boats and motorcycles. It also holds an extensive archival collection, some of which will be on display at the annual induction dinner.

The Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame was established to honour and recognize the achievements of those who have made significant contributions to Canada’s rich and colourful motorsport history.

Since its inception in 1993, more than 90 people have been inducted into the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame including Greg Moore, Scott Goodyear and the legendary Gilles Villeneuve.

In 1999, the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame combined with the Canadian Automotive Collection and now operates as a not-for-profit, charitable organization. It is privately funded and relies on individual donations and corporate sponsorship.

Connect with