August 4, 2005

Chrysler’s Frank Ewasyshyn wins leadership award

Auburn Hills, Michigan – Frank Ewasyshyn, Executive Vice President of Manufacturing for the Chrysler Group, has been awarded the 2005 Wu Manufacturing Leadership Award from the Shien-Ming Wu Foundation for his commitment to advancing the manufacturing industry.

The Wu Award was established to recognize the importance of manufacturing leadership, and its impact on the advancement of the industry and on the improvement of quality of life. Ewasyshyn has been an engineer for over 28 years at the Chrysler Group and currently engineers significant improvements within the company’s manufacturing operations, including changes to plant floor workplace models. He also oversees the implementation of a new, flexible manufacturing strategy that will give Chrysler Group plants the ability to produce multiple models on a single assembly line.

According to the 2005 Harbour Report on automotive manufacturing efficiency, the Chrysler Group made a 19 per cent improvement in productivity over the last three years, leading the industry. In April 2005, Ewasyshyn was inducted into the Shingo Prize Academy in recognition of his achievements in lean, world-class manufacturing.

The Shien-Ming Wu Foundation, headquartered in Ann Arbor, Michigan, was formed in 1993 in memory of the late Professor Shien-Ming Wu, who devoted his life to the research and teaching of manufacturing science and engineering.

Connect with