October 27, 2006

CanadianDriver staff and contributors win nine AJAC Automotive Journalism Awards

CanadianDriver's AJAC journalism award winners
Back row from left: Paul Williams, Russell Purcell, Greg Wilson and Michael Clark. Front row from left: Jil McIntosh and Laurance Yap. Photo: Grant Yoxon. Click image to enlarge

Niagara-On-The-Lake – The staff and contributors of CanadianDriver.com received a total of nine automotive journalism awards from the Automobile Journalists Association of Canada at an awards ceremony held yesterday in Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario.

Assistant Editor, Jil McIntosh, was second runner-up in the competition for Journalist of the Year, for work that included two articles published by CanadianDriver – Fatal car crashes – the science of collision investigation and Exclusive “insider’s look” at the Detroit auto show.

Named Journalist of the Year, for 2007, was Quebec writer Nadine Filion. This is the second time Nadine has received the coveted award. Robert Bostelaar, Editor of the Ottawa Citizen’s Driving section, was named first runner-up.

CanadianDriver Editor Greg Wilson won the Niagara Touring Award for his special travel feature, A Canadian Driver in Maui. CanadianDriver senior writer, Paul Williams, received the Pierelli award for published photography, for his image of the 2007 Jeep Compass. Paul was also first runner-up for the Wakefield Castrol Award for Automotive Writing for the first drive report on the 2007 Jeep Compass.

Frequent contributor, Laurance Yap, was second runner-up in the published photography award for his image F430s rolling off the line inside the Ferrari factory. Second runner-up went to Amee Reehal.

Two journalists were named first overall for the Wakefield Castrol Award for Automotive Writing, the Globe & Mail’s Jeremy Cato and CanadianDriver contributor Michael Clark. Michael won the award for his winter driving review of the Smart fortwo. The article first appeared in the Winnipeg Free Press. The second runner-up award went to Howard Elmer.

Michael Clark was also named runner-up for the Julie Wilkinson Motorsport Journalism Award presented by Bridgestone/Firestone for his article Behind the wheel at the Bridgestone Racing Academy which also first appeared in the Winnipeg Free Press. Globe & Mail automotive writer, Bob English won the award.

CanadianDriver contributor Russell Purcell won the Pirelli Photography Award in the unpublished category. CanadianDriver recently featured the photography of Russell Purcell, who is widely acknowledged to be one of the best automotive photographers in Canada.

Ottawa Citizen Driving Editor Rob Bostelaar won a total of four awards, winning the Car Care Canada Award for Car Safety Journalism, as well as first runner-up for Journalist of the Year, first runner-up for the Mitsubishi Design and Layout Award (won by Laurance Yap for his work with Driven magazine) and first runner-up for the Volvo Award for Environmental Journalism (won by Nadine Filion).

Connect with Autos.ca