Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario – The category winners of the 2011 Canadian Car of the Year awards have been named, following a week of testing by members of AJAC, the Automobile Journalists Association of Canada. From these category winners, the 2011 Canadian Car of the Year and Canadian Utility Vehicle of the Year winners will be announced next February.

To qualify for the awards, vehicles must be all-new or substantially changed for 2011. Members of AJAC who regularly perform road tests come from across Canada for the week-long event. Vehicles are tested on public roads and closed courses, with all vehicles in each category tested back-to-back on the same day by the journalists voting on them.

The category winners for 2011 are as follows:

Best New Small Car Under $21,000: Ford Fiesta

Best New Small Car Over $21,000: Chevrolet Cruze

Best New Family Car Under $30,000: Volkswagen Jetta TDI

Best New Family Car Over $30,000: Buick Regal

Best New Luxury Car Over $50,000: BMW 5 Series Sedan

Best New Prestige Car Over $75,000: Porsche 911 Turbo S

Best New Sports/Performance Car: Cadillac CTS-V Coupe

Best New Minivan: Toyota Sienna

Best New SUV/CUV Under $35,000: Hyundai Tucson

Best New SUV/CUV $35,000 to $50,000: Ford Edge

Best New SUV/CUV Over $50,000: Volkswagen Touareg

The overall winners of 2011 Canadian Car of the Year and Canadian Utility Vehicle of the Year will be named at the Canadian International Auto Show in Toronto in February 2011. For full results, visit AJAC.


Connect with