Surrey, England – BMW has won six awards for five engines at the International Engine of the Year Awards, including taking the top award for its 3.0-litre twin-turbocharged six-cylinder engine for the second year in a row. Only once before has an engine taken the top prize twice: when BMW’s 5.0-litre V10 won in 2005 and 2006.

The BMW 3.0-litre won with 380 points, almost 100 points ahead of the second-place Volkswagen 1.4-litre TSI Twincharger available in the Golf, Touran, Tiguan and Jetta in international markets.

The awards are decided by a panel of 65 journalists representing 32 countries and are organized by Engine Technology International. The awards have been presented since 1999.

BMW also won Best New Engine of the Year for its all-aluminum four-cylinder diesel, the first time the award has been given for a diesel unit.

The winners of the 2008 awards are:

  • Engine of the Year: BMW 3.0-litre twin-turbo six-cylinder
  • Best New Engine: BMW 2.0-litre twin turbo diesel four-cylinder
  • Green Engine: Toyota 1.5-litre Hybrid Synergy Drive
  • Best Performance Engine: Porsche 3.6-litre turbo
  • Sub 1-litre: Toyota 1.0-litre
  • 1-litre to 1.4-litre: Volkswagen 1.4-litre TSI Twincharger
  • 1.4-litre to 1.8-litre: BMW-PSA 1.6-litre turbo
  • 1.8-litre to 2.0-litre: Volkswagen/Audi 2.0-litre turbo FSI
  • 2.0-litre to 2.5-litre: Subaru 2.5-litre turbo
  • 2.5-litre to 3.0-litre: BMW 3.0-litre twin-turbo six-cylinder
  • 3.0-litre to 3.5-litre: BMW 4.0-litre V8
  • Above 4.0-litre: BMW 5.0-litre V10
  • Connect with