November 9, 2004

Automotive journalism awards announced

Belleville, Ontario – Three separate awards for automotive journalism were handed out at the annual awards dinner sponsored by the Automobile Journalists Association of Canada (AJAC), October 28th.

The 2004 Castrol Chinthe Award was presented to Jeremy Cato for his article “Consumers swimming in sea of rebates, incentives” which appeared in the Globe and Mail MegaWheels section. This year’s runners up were Gerry Malloy writing for Toronto Star Wheels and Kelly Taylor of the Winnipeg Free Press.

Judges for the award were Jacques Anderson, marketing instructor at the Canadian Automotive Institute at Georgian College, Denise Faguy, Manager, Public Relations of CarCare Canada and Dennis DesRosiers, President of DesRosiers Automotive Consultants, all long-time communications experts within the Canadian automotive industry. Cato and Malloy are both previous winners of this award.

Jeremy Cato, also won the Volvo Award for Environmental Journalism for his May 20, 2004 Globe & Mail story, “Ford is the first auto maker to market hybrid SUV.” Larry Futers, vice president of marketing for Volvo Canada, presented the award. “The prose painted a complete picture of the immerging Hybrid-electric vehicle market and how important it was to both the Ford brand and other manufacturers,” he said. “A reader could walk away from the article armed with the knowledge to make an informed environmentally-conscious decision without the added legwork of memorizing jargon.

As previously announced the Jaguar Canada 2004 Automotive Journalist of the Year award was recently presented to La Presse journalist, Nadine Filion. First runner-up was Gerry Malloy, a past winner and writer for the Toronto Star, and second runner-up was Robert Bostelaar of the Ottawa Citizen.

Connect with