October 28, 2004

Automotive Hall of Fame names Carlos Ghosn Industry Leader of the Year

The Automotive Hall of Fame has named Carlos Ghosn, President and CEO of Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. as its 2004 Industry Leader of the Year. Additionally, the Automotive Hall of Fame will present Distinguished Service Citations to six individuals, either currently active in the industry or recently retired, who have made outstanding contributions to the industry and to their respective organizations. All of these recognitions will be presented on January 30, 2005 at the Automotive Hall of Fame’s Annual Awards Luncheon, held in conjunction with the annual convention of the National Automobile Dealers Association in New Orleans.

The Automotive Hall of Fame’s Industry Leader of the Year recognition is awarded to the head of an automotive organization that has exhibited extraordinary success in the previous year. “The well-documented turnaround of Nissan, led by Carlos Ghosn, has become one of the auto industry’s great success stories and case studies,” said Jeffrey Leestma, Automotive Hall of Fame President.

The Automotive Hall of Fame’s coveted Distinguished Service Citations will be presented to:

  • Charles R. Blum, President Emeritus, Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA)

  • Christine K. Cortez, Senior Vice President Global Service and Parts, DaimlerChrysler Corporation
  • Ronald L. Cutler, Vice President, Sales & Marketing, TRW Automotive
  • Ray Green, Owner of retail dealer group Green Holding Company
  • James G. O’Connor, Group Vice President, N.A. Marketing, Sales & Service, Ford Motor Company
  • David O’Reilly, Co-Chairman and CEO of aftermarket parts retailer O’Reilly Automotive

The Automotive Hall of Fame, located in Dearborn, Michigan, is the only industry-wide means to honor the men and women of the global motor vehicle and related industries. It is dedicated to preserving the history of mobility by celebrating the creativity, toil and genius of the individual.

Connect with Autos.ca