New York, New York – Eight individuals representing automotive racing, design, manufacturing, aftermarket and management have been selected for induction into the Automotive Hall of Fame for 2008.

The inductees were announced at the New York International Auto Show and will formally be inducted at the Ritz-Carlton in Dearborn, Michigan in October. The inductees are:

Paul V. Galvin (1895-1959), co-founder of Motorola

Robert W. Galvin (1922-), former chairman, CEO and president of Motorola

Phil Hill (1927-), first American to win the Formula 1 World Drivers Championship

Bob Irvin (1933-1980), automotive journalist for The Detroit News and Automotive News

William E. Metzger (1868-1933), automotive pioneer and the first car dealer, co-founder of E-M-F Motor Company (later amalgamated into Studebaker)

Mort Schwartz (1934-), founder of the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium

John J. “Jack” Telnack (1937-), former head of design, Ford Motor Company

John North Willys (1873-1935), automotive pioneer of Willys-Overland and Willys-Knight

Connect with